Blue Access for Producers

Blue Distinction Specialty Care Benefit Differential

Blue Distinction® Centers (BDC) and Blue Distinction® Centers+ (BDC+) Benefit Differential product lets employers structure benefits in a way that encourages employees to seek high quality and cost-effective care from the BDC or BDC+ designated specialty care programs. Blue Distinction Centers are designated hospitals that demonstrate expertise in delivering patient care safely and effectively for select specialty care procedures.

The Blue Distinction® Center for Specialty Care program focuses on quality of care.The Blue Distinction® Centers+ for Specialty Care program focuses on efficiency and quality of care. These programs cover six specialty areas.

DCBDP Specialty Areas

Self-insured employers can structure benefits into two, three or four tiers. Here's an example of the three-tiered benefit design:

Tier 1 – Blue Distinction Centers/Blue Distinction Centers Plus facilities
Tier 2 – Broad PPO
Tier 3 – Out-of-network


  • Proven quality results
  • Managed costs
  • Lower readmission rates and fewer complications
  • Covering the top 50 Market Services Areas

National Access

National Access Map

To discuss Blue Distinction Centers Benefit Differential benefit designs, contact your BCBSTX Account Representative.

View details 

Search for Doctors and Hospitals